~ Week 28 ~

Standard

This week marked the beginning of my third trimester!! I have now entered the ‘home stretch’ of pregnancy YAY! I really feel like the countdown has begun and the next 12 weeks are going to fly by..

All my reading sources say baby is just getting bigger and smarter from now until birth, aswell as developing more fat to smooth out that wrinkly skin and now sleep includes REM which means he/she could be dreaming already. Whatever about is hard to imagine!

This week I felt pretty good again apart from feeling tired and needing the odd power nap, I was able to do all my regular activities without any niggling pains or twinges which was a relief. I had my monthly OB checkup and everything checked out okay. Baby seems to be average in size (judging by my tummies measurement!) and my weight gain is steadly on the up and up. This month I gained 4lbs, most of which I think happened in those two weeks where I wasn’t as active as normal due to round ligament pain.  It definately was a growth spurt time and doc tells me I should just expect it to come and go.

Project Nursery is still a work in progress. I think hitting the third trimester milestone has made me think about it again.  At the moment we are on the lookout for a bassinet that will fit in our bedroom for those first few weeks / months and which buggy (or stroller as they call them here in the US) system to choose.

I am very blessed to have received lots of super cute baby hand-me-downs this week too ( babygrows, toys and blankets etc) from my sister. It’s so exciting once the baby clothes  start to make their way into the house. I am exerting self control on spending in that area mind, as babies gender is  a surprise  I don’t want to end up with a ton of neutral colours! My Mum has knit us a mini Aran cardigain too (the first one!)  which I am thrilled about. Being an Aran Islander herself she is very very good at them and making them in such a tiny size is really something! I have watched her over the years make them for my nieces and nephews and great-nephew even when each of them were born so to be on the receiving end feels very special.  Once she sends it to me I will post pics! ^_^

Next month Robin and I have our Childbirth Preparation Class which should be  interesting. We decided on a one day ”intensive” class rather than to spread it out over a few evenings and weeks. I wonder how ”intensive” and  should they show us any labour and birthing videos hopefully  it won’t be anything too gory…for his sake ! ^_^

the arty bump shot

Bump Progress Week 28!

Leave a Reply

